“To do nothing at all is the most difficult thing in the world, the most difficult and the most intellectual” -Oscar Wilde

I feel like getting nothing done today, not a thing, I refuse to get out of bed and put on put on pants today! Well, I really should make something to eat, and there is that pile of laundry that needs to get done. Fine! But, after I do that I don’t want to do anything! But, I just had this great idea for a story! No, we’re not doing that today, we can do it tomorrow, right?

This is my normal internal monologue when I decide I don’t want to do something, on any given day. I wanted to have one of these days yesterday and ended up doing most of my laundry as well as writing 7 more pages of the first chapter of our novel. I feel it’s really coming along now. I can see where it’s going in my mind’s eye, and not just that, last night I was finally able to put it into words without too much trouble.

I’m finding my biggest issue right now is that I’m not writing in a lot of fluff. I’m getting out the main points, any conversations that are happening, and describing things as they are happening, but I’m not describing the places these people are, partly because I’m not sure what they look like yet, but also because the need to write the “meat and potatoes” of the story is too strong. Can anyone relate to this situation? If so, what did you do about it?

Hope to hear some different opinions on this one!

Laters,

Eric

P.S. I don’t really like today’s daily prompt, can anyone think of something more interesting to write about?

One thought on ““To do nothing at all is the most difficult thing in the world, the most difficult and the most intellectual” -Oscar Wilde

  1. Pingback: Inspired by Beauty – Day 15 | Muse In The Valley ©

Leave a Reply

